Personal Relationship

bible-1846174_1920.jpg

“So faith comes from hearing, and hearing through the word of Christ.” Romans 10:17

“And this is eternal life, that they know you, the only true God, and Jesus Christ whom you have sent.” John 17:3

 

I gotta confess – I haven’t had a personal devotional time for a long time.

I think I’ve blogging away my thoughts and anxieties rather than communing with God in personal prayers and devotionals. Although I try to stay true to my faith in all my posts, this lack of personal one-on-one relationship inevitably means my understanding of God’s will has been mostly intellectual for quite a while. All the books I’ve been reading, while intentionally true to God’s Word, are no substitute for the living Word.

It’s the difference between knowing someone and knowing about that someone. One is a personal, direct first-hand account; the other, a detached, spectatorial string of thoughts about a person. No true repentance nor thanksgiving, much less following of Christ, is possible outside of His presence. Being in a relationship with God requires us to be completely vulnerable and at the same time accountable to Him. Those are two words many of us would feel uncomfortable with, but necessary for any kind of real growth – which in this case is to follow Christ.

To everyone reading this, I urge you to always return to the living Word, regardless of how much you think you know. It is completely pointless to discuss God, His Kingdom, and life in general without an ongoing, ever more intimate relationship with the One to whom we profess to wholly devote our lives.

Praise be to God, Amen!

 

Leave a Reply

